View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Mon Apr 29, 2024 3:33 pm

Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 unity or unreal engine? 
Rank 15
Rank 15

I have a game in my to do list.

The base idea is a sim like erotic game, mostly based on A I. The player will have a god like intervention, or similar to Artificial Academy.

I am just a designer and lazy slow learning programmer (licenced coder moved to graphics too long ago) . The 3d gaming software I got the farthest was Darkbasic.

What do you think is easier to learn to start this project and why? Unreal or Unity? I dont care of graphics, but easier coding.

(ps: looking for teammates in the future)

Tue Sep 29, 2015 10:40 pm
Rank 15
Rank 15

Honestly, noone tried a game engine?

Wed Sep 30, 2015 10:51 pm
Rank 16
Rank 16

Unity has a great community with lots of libraries that can - at a cost - make things easier. It also lets you write code in javascript, C#, or its own javascript-like language.

Thu Oct 01, 2015 12:27 am
Rank 16
Rank 16

I'm currently "learning" unity.
Some concepts are obscure and involve black magic, which I don't like.
I like to know what I do, and how it works.

But, the fact is it seems to work well, you can do many things with "minimum" code,
all the IDE black magic can be written by hand. So there seems to be no IDE only feature, you could write a full game with code only.

Unity works only with "levels", this is disturbing since there's no global code. only level code, and when you load a level, you lose 'everything' previously loaded.
so you have to start your game with a "Global controller" (sound, GUI, Inputs...), and make it persistent with "DontDestroyOnLoad".

some unity games work well, some others not. Probably the good way and the bad way of creating a game with unity engine...

So far, I can't tell much more, since I'm just watching tutorials again and again.