View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Tue Apr 30, 2024 11:47 am

Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Jus Sanguinis (Adult 2D RPG) 
Rank 4
Rank 4

Hey!

I'm an artist by trade (not strictly speaking, since I work retail), but I'm trying my hand at making a 2D video game. I have a guy programming for me, so that part is covered, and I can write a little here and there.

LATEST PUBLIC DEMO: http://www.mediafire.com/download/ja1od ... Demo_3.exe / http://www.mediafire.com/download/1prm4 ... Demo_3.jar

Controls:
W/Up -> Walk North
S/Down -> Walk South
A/Left -> Walk West
D/Right -> Walk East
Space -> Attack / Struggle / Get Up
Q -> Block
E -> Activate object
R -> Pick up item
I -> Inventory

The game world itself is going to be on a grid like the 2D Zelda games for Gameboy (you walk on the grid right now, but that may change to free-walking like those Zelda games), and the gameplay will all be live action (not turn-based).

You play Shara, the girl on the left, as she levels up her skills and gets better equipment, makes a name for herself, and battles through the main quest line. I want the game to be pretty open-world, where you can free-roam and take on various quests, and I'm making it so that the different stories going on during the game are all happening on their own time rather than waiting for you.

Here's what Shara looks like in the game at this point:

ImageImageImage

I played a few games where your choices drastically alter the way that the quests develop and even impact the game world, and that's what I'm going for more than anything.

The game is going to be free for anyone to play, available for download on my blog. The game's playable right now, but I'm trying to get a few more things done so I can get a rough version uploaded in the next couple weeks :D

http://jsthegame.blogspot.ca/

If you have any questions or suggestions, I'm all ears!