View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Tue Apr 25, 2017 8:33 am



Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
 Help me model the chains (request) 
Author Message
Rank 15
Rank 15

Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 8:36 am
Posts: 242
I spent some time to see how the chains can be used to build another model.
I have some ideas and I'm glad switching between link types works (REVOL/PRISM/TRANSLATE)

However I have some questions:

1) are the chains pivot points are set through software? Can they be chainged in Maya?
If I move the rbChain2_joint1:
- the X axis: the chains get close/far from their pairs
- the Z axis: all the chains move up/down.
- the Y axis: they move in different directions (see the image. The pairs are marked in colors).
Attachment:
Screenshot (86).png
Screenshot (86).png [ 518.19 KiB | Viewed 4336 times ]


The issue is Y axis: I just want to move them farther from each other but still aligned, not like in my print screen. Is it a Maya thing I'm missing?

2) is there a way I can disable the middle pair of chains?

3) Rigged objects use soft2. Can I create a standalone soft2 object or is it only used in predefined objects (chains and clamps)? If it is possible, how should it be built in .ini and objects.dat (dyn_object or sex_object?)


Last edited by loki on Sun Sep 27, 2015 6:39 pm, edited 2 times in total.



Sun Sep 27, 2015 12:17 am
Profile
Rank 18
Rank 18

Joined: Sun Jun 22, 2014 3:46 pm
Posts: 1058
@loki nice :D


Sun Sep 27, 2015 10:45 am
Profile
Rank 15
Rank 15

Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 8:36 am
Posts: 242
@xpadmin
May I please ask you to include this in a new update?

Could you make the chains have each its own origin in Maya and not in coding?
The chains have a lot of potential in building custom devices. I was trying to change it into a stretching rack.

Or maybe create an additional version we can mod. This would require:
- 4 chains, not 6, all for both feet and hands. Connected to the same pivot, just a simplified version. Even 2 like the xsp2 version, but working like the new ones. We can duplicate them and revol the pivot.
- a changeable xyz position of the chain pairs in Maya.
- replace the remote with a static wheel/button for each pair of chains. It is annoying sometimes to continuously drop the remote to grab something else. And I want to go medieval, not sci-fi. A revol wheel gives realism.

The rack in the photo can be finished this simple way. I noticed the chains can perfectly bend over a cylinder (thats why I have 2 cylinders in my test).

I already think of an entire medieval dungeon.

Could you take this as priority because it will really improve 3.5 modding a lot. Currently we dont have much access to soft2 objects (edit: I think I misunderstood soft2 at the time I wrote this) . I don't ask for a build in object but just a new coded structure (chain3_object or something).

Image


Last edited by loki on Fri Oct 16, 2015 8:18 pm, edited 2 times in total.



Thu Oct 01, 2015 8:12 pm
Profile
Rank 18
Rank 18

Joined: Sun Jun 22, 2014 3:46 pm
Posts: 1058
@loki nice :D


Thu Oct 01, 2015 9:05 pm
Profile
Rank 14
Rank 14

Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 7:23 pm
Posts: 153
Location: #0BADF00D - #FEED1337
The current object architecture is insane complicated atm. This game desperatly needs building blocks and a plugin system for user written blocks!
e.g. the current chains could be implemented as a compilation of building blocks instead its an hardwired maya model.

+Base
+Chains_translateable
|+Suspender1L_rotateable
| +Chain_soft
| +Cuffs_Base_dynamic
| |-Pin_Constraint ( parameter: bone IDs to which it is able to be pinned and bone offset to position it correctly (in percent 0.0 at the beginning 1.0 at the end))
| |-Cuffs_rotateable
....

Identify them by GUIDs for the remote control or scripting...


Fri Oct 09, 2015 8:06 pm
Profile
Rank 18
Rank 18

Joined: Sun Jun 22, 2014 3:46 pm
Posts: 1058
@rezzabae agreed :D


Fri Oct 09, 2015 8:26 pm
Profile
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 11:16 am
Posts: 1843
@rezzabae

Yes for creating you own objects this is needed. The current modding is not setup like Garry's mod.

Modding the characters cloth, animations behavior is pretty elaborate. So best is to concentrate on that.

Modding objects is only possible by making changes in the textures and shape, not the rigging setup.


Sun Oct 25, 2015 8:37 am
Profile
Rank 18
Rank 18

Joined: Sun Jun 22, 2014 3:46 pm
Posts: 1058
@xpadmin sure we are concentrate more on new level, new stories, new cloth, new behavior/animations

but the point with the machines is another capability for this game the game would be even more unique

so what we can expect/do you plan how bring more nice machines/make new machines by modding

is it for v4 more planned/we have more possibilities in this way? the time till v4 release we can give 3d models of this machines you will rig/animate these? how long (timeframe) does it take until it is in game/you upload functional machine?


Mon Oct 26, 2015 9:10 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 8 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: smithclub99 and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group.
Designed by X-Moon Productions.